top of page
About Australia

Australia's official name is the Commonwealth of Australia, which means "Australian Federation." Speaking of "Australia", the first thing that comes to mind is Australia, such as Koala or Kangaroo, has six states and two special areas.
The location lies in the southern hemisphere of the earth and can be said to be a country with unlimited potential. Typical cities include Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide, Gold Coast, Cairns, Canberra, Perth, Hobart, etc. to be.
It is about 4,000km east-west and 3,680km north-south, about 15 times the size of Korea, the sixth largest in the world after Russia, Canada, China, the United States, and Brazil. Australia's international dialing number is +61.
There are three levels of government in Australia, each with different responsibilities and services. First of all, the federal government is a national government that covers Australia as a whole and enforces legislation enacted by the Federal Parliament. The federal government oversees Australia's trade, commerce, quarantine, currency, patents, marriage, immigration, defense and communications, as well as providing welfare and other support services through government agencies such as Medicare and Centrelink.
For state / territory governments, Australian states (New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia, Tasmania) and territories (Northern Territory, Australian Capital Territory, Australia) are police, public schools, roads and transportation, public hospitals, and public housing. , Corporate regulation, etc.
In addition, local governments can be cities, town councils, or shire, which can include city planning, building approvals, local roads, parking, public libraries, public toilets, water and sewerage. It is responsible for waste disposal and recycling, livestock and community facilities.
Australia's population is 25 million, and despite its relatively small population relative to its large area, Australia is the most urbanized among Western countries, with about 70 percent of its population in the top 10 cities, mostly along the east and southeast coastline of the continent. It is concentrated.
Although Australia is an immigrant country with many ethnic groups, its English language and lifestyle are based on Western styles. In fact, one fourth of the population is born overseas, most of them from Asia and Europe. This multiculturalism also influenced Australia's food culture. A variety of dishes with fresh, clean and unique flavors, and a feast of well-balanced flavors from the East and the West can be experienced in Australia.
Australia is located between the Pacific and Indian Oceans and is the only continental country on earth. Australia has long been known for its beautiful and diverse natural landscapes since it has been geographically isolated.
It is a beautiful country that attracts foreign tourists all year round with its golden sandy beaches, the coastal reefs, tropical rainforests, ice caps, vast lands and rugged outbacks. The unique characteristics of each region, such as climate, lifestyle, and urban atmosphere, make it possible for international students to choose the region according to their preferences.


Australia is located in the southern hemisphere and because of its vast size, the climate is evenly distributed from tropical to temperate. 80% of the northern regions and 40% of Western Australia are tropical, with the rest being temperate temperate climate.
Australia's summer is from December to February, autumn is from March to May, winter is from June to August, and spring is from September to November. The coldest areas are the highlands of Tasmania and the southeastern coast of the Australian continent, so students going to these areas should prepare clothing for the climate.
Unlike in Korea, Australian currency is operated by a decimal system. One dollar is worth 100 cents in decimal units. Banknotes are usually issued in $ 5, $ 10, $ 20, $ 50, and $ 100, with five cents, twenty cents, fifty cents (all silver grey), and one and two dollars (golden) coins. 5 cents is the lowest currency unit because 1 cent and 2 cents are not used.
Time difference
Australia is divided into three different time zones:
Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST): The time zones in the eastern states: Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, Australian Capital Territory. AEST adds 10 hours (UTC +10) to the Universal Agreement.
Central Australian Standard Time (ACST): South Australia, Western Broken Hill village and Northern Territory time zone. ACST adds 9.5 hours in UTC (UTC +9.5). Australian Western Standard Time (AWST): Time zone of Western Australia. AWST adds 8 hours to Coordinated Universal Time (UTC +8).
Australia is a country of religious freedom. Being a multi-ethnic nation, its religions and sects are diverse. Most large schools have chapels, prayer rooms, etc. for international students, and may participate in the religious clubs on campus.
Leisure activities

Most Australians love sports. People usually go to the beach or park for a barbecue or picnic with their family and friends on weekends. Each university also has a wide range of sports clubs where international students can participate, and on-campus sports centers can be used at low prices.

bottom of page